Book Format and Layout Research

I went to the library specifically in search of inspiration for square books. I have decided I wanted to use a square format from this project, but it would be good to look at other examples for some inspiration. My images are not square format and so I worry that the layout inside may not work. I have chosen these photo books to solely focus on the layout and structure rather than the images themselves.

Steve Pyke – Philosophers

This book design by Pyke works successfully in square format as all the photographs are also square. The layout of the book is the same throughout, the image printed large on the right hand page with a white border of about an inch. The caption is printed on the opposite page in the bottom left hand corner.
I think this simple layout works well for the work presented here, they are all black and white portraits so the repetitive layout works well. This layout would not be effective for me to follow as I have not been working in square format.

Aaron Rose – Photographs

This book by Aaron Rose is another example of a square format book. The images presented in this book are both square format and landscape. The double page spread with the two landscape shots prove to me that using a square format for the book does not have to limit my design inside. I like that the white borders and uneven, the bottom border is wider, and it is effective that they have been placed off centre on the page.

Thomas Ruff – Arario

This book by Ruff has been the most inspiration for me out of the three examples here. The layout throughout the book is not strictly structured, and the design of the pages changes as you flick through. Pages go from full bleed images on one page, across the double page spread, and then placed so they are surrounded by uneven white borders. Some images also take up a lot less space in the centre of the page. He also sometimes portrays more than one image on one page, a triptych of three portrait shots across one square page. In amongst the pages of images there are some pages of text. They are very minimal, I think it is effective presenting the text separately from the images.

The smaller images look like older photos while the larger shots look like more recent photography. In relation to my work here, I think I want to portray the archive shots smaller on the page so it is obvious they are separate and different from my own work which will be presented larger on the pages. I feel inspired by the layout of the images in this book. He has used a range of both portrait and landscape shots. I especially like when landscape images are presented across a double page spread unevenly.

Leave a Reply

